Corey Crawford Named Blackhawks’ Nominee For 2020 Masterton Trophy


Crawford is the Blackhawks nominee for the second consecutive year.

Corey Crawford is the Chicago Blackhawks nominee for the 2020 Bill Masterton Trophy, which is awarded to the player that best exemplifies perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the game of hockey.

Crawford played his first full NHL campaign since 2016-17 after missing the majority of each of the last two seasons due to concussions. The 35-year-old netminder finished the 2019-20 regular season with a 16-20-3 record, 2.77 goals-against average, and .917 save percentage. He shared the net for the first half of the year with 2019 Vezina Trophy finalist Robin Lehner, but after he was traded to Vegas at the deadline, Crawford took over in net and kept the Hawks in the playoff picture down the stretch.

Only two other Blackhawks have won the Masterton Trophy in franchise history: Pit Martin (1969-70), and Bryan Berard (2003-04). Crawford and the 30 other nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists in a poll by the PHWA members, and the winner will be announced at the NHL Awards. Here’s a look at all 31 nominees for the 2020 Bill Masterton Trophy:

For more Blackhawks news and updates, follow the author (@TalkinHawkey) on Twitter. Make sure to check out the author’s podcast, Locked On Blackhawks, which can be found on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and Twitter (@LO_Blackhawks).