Patrick Kane Voted Best No. 88 in NHL History


Kane received 13 of 19 first-place votes to top Hall-of-Fame forward Eric Lindros for the honor.

Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane was voted the best player to ever wear No. 88 in NHL history on Tuesday, according to writers. Kane (51 points, 13-6-0) bested former Philadelphia Flyers captain Eric Lindros (41 points, 5-12-2) and current San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns (1-1-13) in the poll.

Kane, a three-time Stanley Cup champion (2010, 2013, 2015), won the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s top rookie after recording 72 points (21G, 51A) in 2007-08. In his third NHL season, Kane scored the overtime goal in Game 6 of the 2010 Stanley Cup Final to end the Blackhawks 49-year championship drought. The Buffalo, New York native tallied 19 points (9G, 10A) in 23 games during the 2013 postseason en route to a second Stanley Cup and a Conn Smyth Trophy as playoff MVP. Kane became the first American-born player to ever win the Art Ross Trophy (awarded to the NHL leader in regular-season points) and Hart Trophy (NHL MVP) in 2015-16 when he led the league with 106 points (46G, 60A). The 31-year-old forward has been named to the All-Star Game in nine of his 13 NHL campaigns.

“I can’t say enough good things about Patrick Kane and what he’s done to lead the resurgence of the Chicago Blackhawks over time after he was drafted,” Pierre McGuire said. “He and Jonathan Toews are just magical there, but Kane’s the guy that makes it happen. He makes everybody around him better.”

For more Blackhawks news and updates, follow the author (@JackBushman2) on Twitter. Make sure to check out the author’s podcast, Talkin’ Hawkey, which can be found on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and Twitter (@TalkinHawkey).