Patrick Kane’s 2010 Stanley Cup Winner Named NHL’s Goal of the Decade


Kane’s 10th goal of the 2010 postseason gave the Blackhawks their first Stanley Cup since 1961.

Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane’s 2010 Stanley Cup-winning goal was named the NHL’s goal of the decade on Wednesday. The Blackhawks have been heavily involved in the NHL’s all-decade awards already, as they were named the league’s franchise of the decade on Jan. 17. Former head coach Joel Quenneville was voted the NHL’s coach of the decade on Jan. 16 as well.

Kane’s overtime-winner in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final gave the Blackhawks the 4-2 series win for their first championship in nearly 50 years. There were very few people– both in the Wachovia Center, and watching on Television– who knew that the puck slid under Flyers goaltender Michael Leighton and into the net. Kane was one of the few that knew exactly what happened, as he skated down the ice with his arms in the air, eventually jumping into Antti Niemi’s arms.

The 2010 Stanley Cup championship was the first of three in a six-year span for the Blackhawks. Kane’s goal kickstarted the Blackhawks’ dominant decade, and they were an overtime goal away in 2014 from pulling off the three-peat.

For more Blackhawks news and updates, follow the author (@JackBushman2) on Twitter. Make sure to check out the author’s podcast, Talkin’ Hawkey, which can be found on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and Twitter (@TalkinHawkey).

draftkings sportsbook promo

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Sports Mockery, Inc.