Best Sports Teams Of Chicago


Chicago is rich and versatile in sports. It’s one of the few cities in America to home many major professional sports teams. It has teams in the five main sports in America, i.e., baseball, basketball, football, hockey, and soccer. The city has been named thrice as the “Best Sports City” by Sporting News.

The Bears

The Chicago Bears (National Football League) play at Soldier Field, named in honor of the people who served in the armed forces. The stadium is located next to Lake Michigan. Previously,the team played at Staley Field, Wrigley Field and Memorial Stadium.

The franchise was founded in 1919 in Decatur, Illinois. It was originally named Decatur Staleys, but in 1921, the team moved to Chicago and was renamed to Chicago Staleys. In 1922, the name again changed from Chicago Staleys to Chicago Bears.

The Bears are nine-time winners of the NFL championships, which also includes one Super Bowl. They have the most players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. They also have more recorded victories as compared to other NFL franchises.

The Bears’ rivalry with the Green Bay Packers is well-known and goes back to the 1920s. Their other rivals are the Detroit Lions and Minnesota Vikings.

The Cubs

The Chicago Cubs (Major League Baseball) are an American baseball team and play at Wrigley Field. They previously played at 23rd Street Grounds, Lakefront Park, West Side Park and South Side Park.

They were initially known as the White Stockings in 1870, but their name changed to the Chicago Cubs in 1900. The Cubs have won three World Series championships – the first two in 1907 and 1908, while the third in 2016 which ended the 108-year drought. They also won the National League pennant in 2016, ending 71 years of National League pennant drought.

This baseball team has played and won more games and scored more runs than any other Major League Baseball team since 1876. It has successfully gathered 17 pennants to its name.

The Cubs have a bitter rivalry with the St. Louis Cardinals, while their other competitors are Milwaukee Brewers and Chicago White Sox.

The White Sox

The home field of the Chicago White Sox (Major League Baseball) is the Guaranteed Rate Field. Before that, it played at South Side Park, Milwaukee County Stadium and Comiskey Park.

The club was established in Chicago in 1901 and was originally known as the White Stockings but was later shortened to the White Sox. The team won three World Series championships in 1906, 1917 and 2005 as well as six American League pennants.

The Bulls

The Chicago Bulls (National Basketball Association) play at the United Center, which they share with the Chicago Blackhawks. The team was founded by Dick Klein in 1966.

Led by the legendary coach Phil Jackson and players Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen, the Bulls won three NBA championships consecutively from 1991 to 1993 and again from 1996 to 1998. The Bulls have a fierce rivalry with Miami Heat, New York Knicks and Detroit Pistons.

The Blackhawks

The Chicago Blackhawks (National Hockey League) are an ice hockey team established in 1926. The Blackhawks were named after Frederic McLaughlin’s military unit when he served during World War I. Their home arena is United Center.

They won Stanley Cups in 1934, 1938, 1961, 2010, 2013 and 2015. The team’s renowned players are Stan Mikita, Bobby Hull, Glenn Hall, Tony Esposito, Keith Magnuson, Denis Savard, Patrick Sharp, Patrick Kane, Ed Belfour, Marian Hossa, Corey Crawford and Jonathan Toews.

The Blackhawks are known for their extreme rivalry with the Detroit Red Wings. Other rivalries include the Vancouver Canucks, Nashville Predators and St. Louis Blues.

The Fire

The Chicago Fire (Major League Soccer) club was founded in 1997 and is named after the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. In the past, the team played at Soldier Field and Cardinal Stadium, but since 2006, it has

played at Toyota Park located in Bridgeview. The team has won one MLS Cup and four US Open Cups since joining the league.

The Fire have international players. Some prominent players are CuauhtemocBlanco (Mexico), Piotr Nowak (Poland) and Brian McBride (US).

All sports can be overwhelming at times. If you want to try something different yet fun, should be a good alternative.