Take 2: Jon Lester Takes The Hill For Chicago As They Go For Their Eighth Straight Win


Okay, let’s try this again. After being rained out on Monday night, the Chicago Cubs are back at it tonight in search of their eighth straight victory and also their 25th win of the season. Their 24-6 record is the best 30-game start since the 1984 World Series-winning Detroit Tigers. Many think that the 1984 Cubs could have beaten that team (damn you, Steve Garvey), but that’s an argument for a different day. To make up for Monday night’s postponement, the Cubs and Padres will play a day-night doubleheader tomorrow.

Jon Lester will take the mound for the Cubs in search of his fourth win of the season and his first win at Wrigley Field in 2016. He’s pitched three times at home this season, taking two no-decisons and his lone loss on the year, which came back on April 17 against the Colorado Rockies. Lester has a 2.21 ERA at the Friendly Confines this year in 20 1/3 innings. He’s struck out 25 opposing batters in that span. His overall 1.58 ERA is good for second in the National League, behind only his teammate Jake Arrieta, and fifth in the Majors.

San Diego will counter with rookie right-hander Cesar Vargas, who’ll be making his fourth career start this evening. He’s given up only two earned runs in 16 1/3 innings this season and obviously hasn’t faced any member of the Cubs roster.

Here’s everything else you need to know about tonight’s series opener.

San Diego Padres (13-19) at Chicago Cubs (24-6)

Time: 7:05 PM CT

Location: Wrigley Field

Radio: 670 The Score


Starting Pitchers: Cesar Vargas (0-1, 1.10 ERA) vs Jon Lester (3-1, 1.58 ERA)

Starting Lineups


Position Player vs Lester AVG. 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO
CF Jon Jay 1-2 .500 0 0 0 0 0 1
1B Wil Myers 2-5 .400 1 0 1 1 1 1
RF Matt Kemp 1-2 .500 0 0 0 0 1 1
C Derek Norris 3-10 .300 0 0 1 1 5 1
LF Melvin Upton Jr. 12-60 .200 2 0 2 4 4 14
3B Brett Wallace
2B Jose Pirela
SS Alexei Ramirez 9-38 .237 3 0 0 4 2 8
P Cesar Vargas



Position Player vs Vargas AVG. 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO
CF Dexter Fowler
RF Jason Heyward
LF Kris Bryant
1B Anthony Rizzo
2B Ben Zobrist
3B Javier Baez
SS Addison Russell
C David Ross
P Jon Lester

DraftKings UFC 254 Promo
Luke Norris
Luke Norris is a freelance writer, editor, and publisher. He writes on a lot of different topics, but focuses mainly on sports, and that includes being a senior writer here at Sports Mockery. You can follow him on Twitter @THElukenorris, check out his website, The Luke Norris Experience, and like his Facebook page at www.facebook.com/thelukenorrisexperience.