Eddie Belfour To Get “One More Shift” With The Blackhawks


Hockey Hall of Fame member Ed Belfour will be the latest Chicago Blackhawks legend to get “One More Shift” with the organization. The Eagle follows Denis Savard, Jeremy Roenick and Steve Larmer as players from their era who did not win a Cup with the team to receive the honor. Ironically, Belfour’s night will come against the Dallas Stars for whom he did win a Stanley Cup after leaving the Blackhawks.

Belfour is one of the most beloved Blackhawks players for his play, antics and his legendary mask. Through parts of 8 seasons with the organization Belfour played 415 regular season games, which ranks as the fourth most. His 201 wins and 30 shutouts are third best in an organization rich in goalie history.

During his rookie campaign in 1990-1991 he registered a team record 43 wins en route to the Calder (rookie of the year), Jennings (fewest goals allowed) and Vezina (best goaltender) trophies. Belfour would post 41 wins in 1992-1993 and is the only Blackhawks goalie to have multiple 40 win seasons. The Eagle would also earn another Vezina Trophy in 1993 and two more Jennings trophies in 1993 and 1995.

Belfour ranks third all-time in Blackhawks playoff victories with 35. In 1992 he helped lead the organization to their first Stanley Cup Final appearance since 1973. He posted a 12-4 record and 2.47 gaa in those playoffs but fell short to the Mario Lemieux led Pittsburgh Penguins.

Belfour went on to play with the San Jose Sharks, Dallas Stars, Toronto Maple Leafs and Florida Panthers. He amassed 484 wins which is third all time and posted 76 career shutouts to rank ninth. The Eagle won a gold medal with Team Canada in 2002 and was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2011.

I have one question though. Since he will be skating out with the team for the national anthem, will Frank Pelico play the Canadian National Anthem for Belfour?